How to file for Uncontested Divorce in Oklahoma Fast

The first step in getting a divorce decree is to file the divorce petition. One spouse files the petition, which does not have to include the spouses’ final agreements on issues like property division, child custody and visitation, child support or alimony.

Once the petition is filed, there is a mandatory 60-day waiting period before it is possible to finalize the divorce. This is known as a “cooling off period.” These two months are when the spouses should meet and agree on all unresolved issues. If both spouses agree by the end of those 60 days, then the spouse who filed the petition can appear in court with his or her attorney and the judge approves the divorce petition and grants the decree.

 

An Emphasis on Conflict Resolution and Personal Service

How to file for Uncontested Divorce in Oklahoma Fast – They can only legally represent one of the spouses in the divorce, she makes herself available to meet with both spouses to help find compromises on any remaining conflicts.

She also has a tradition of providing highly personal service, which is a hallmark of the Law Offices of Robert S. Gregg. Divorce clients work directly with attorney, not with a paralegal, and she is available as needed for telephone and in-person consultations as the divorce process progresses for each client.

At the same time, attorney tries to guide her clients through a cost-efficient divorce process, which often means helping clients do cost-benefit analyses on the benefit of talking through a minor point of spousal disagreement versus the cost of paying an attorney to listen.

Spread the love

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll Up